Wonder Woman: Warbringer by Leigh Bardugo: Review

29749085

Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
Genres: Superhero, Fantasy, Retelling
Release date: August 29th, 2017
Dates read: June 11th-17th, 2017

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ / 5

641ab-add-to-goodreads-button3

 

Review:

**This is a review of an Advance Uncorrected Reader’s Copy and will be spoiler-free**


As soon as I found out that Leigh Bardugo was writing a Wonder Woman story I knew I had to get my hands on it! Leigh is one of my favorite authors but I’ve never been big into superheros and I honestly went into this knowing next-to-nothing about Wonder Woman (I saw the movie while I was halfway through reading it) but like I suspected, it was still a really enjoyable story! I wasn’t sure whether it was supposed to be like a prequel to the movie but after seeing the movie, it doesn’t really fit in, so I’m pretty sure it’s an alternate-universe type of thing which was really neat! It was so cool to see what Leigh did with the world and the character of Diana and to compare and contrast the two. I honestly enjoyed this book as much as I enjoyed the movie (if not more), it was such a unique and creative take on Diana and the Amazons.

I loved the characters and the little group they formed! Diana experiencing New York City (and modern civilization in general) for the first time was hilarious and led to some really scenes. I didn’t go into this book expecting to care about any of the other characters but I ended up absolutely loving them! Alia was amazing and probably my favorite character, she was so funny and brave and I just loved reading from her point of view! Jason, Nim, and Theo were also great and added a lot of lightheartedness to the story.

My one complaint about this book was that it was a bit slow. I felt like certain things were dragged out longer than they needed to be when I just wanted to get on with the story. However, there were lots of other great things to balance this out! The characters were spectacular, and the incorporation of Greek mythology was amazing and something I was not expecting (because like I said, I went into this knowing almost nothing about Wonder Woman & her relationship to Greek myths). All of the scenes that took place in Greece were some of my favorites, Leigh’s rich descriptions made me want to take a trip there!

I also really appreciated the diversity in this book and the fact that real-world issues were brought up within it. The Wonder Woman movie was pretty lacking in terms of diversity, so it was really refreshing to have many of the main characters who were people of color. I also always appreciate a good group dynamic/road trip story, and this book totally had it! The friendships and different relationships explored throughout this book really added some heart to it.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book and I highly recommend picking it up – especially if you’re a Wonder Woman fan! It really made me interested her story and I may end up doing some research and reading more about her in the future. Great characters, road trips, and superheroes come together and definitely make this amazing book worth the read!

Have you seen the Wonder Woman movie yet? Are you excited to read Leigh Bardugo’s take on Diana? Comment below!!

Preorder Wonder Woman: Warbringer here: B&N | IndieBound | BAM! | BookDepository

Happy reading,

Sara

Leave a Reply

