Once and for All by Sarah Dessen: Review

32078787For you, I wish for second chances.”

Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers
Genres: Contemporary, Romance
Release date: June 6th, 2017
Dates read: June 18th-June 26th, 2017

Rating: ★ ★ ★ ★ / 5

641ab-add-to-goodreads-button3

Review (with mild spoilers):

As usual, Sarah Dessen delivered the perfect summer contemporary! This was one of my most highly anticipated releases of the year, and it did not disappoint. It was so interesting to see what the wedding business is like from the inside, and how much planning went into them that I never would have thought about. Louna and her mother and William’s relationship was really sweet, I loved their little family trio. I was on the fence about Ambrose at first, because he seemed a little extra, but I ended up loving him and his relationship with Louna. He was really different from other YA love interests and I ended up loving his lightheartedness even though it seemed kind of annoying at first.

I also really liked the storyline about moving on after a loved one dies. Louna thinks that all her relationships will end tragically like her one with Ethan did, and she thinks that nothing will live up to what she had with him. It’s easy to feel like this after a relationship ends like that, and I enjoyed Louna’s journey to opening herself back up again to the possibility of love. I was a little annoyed when she ran away from Ambrose before he finished talking, because I feel like that happens a lot in YA contemporaries (the protagonist getting upset over a misunderstanding) but there probably needed to be some drama before the end of the book, I just wish it had been different. I really did like the ending though, and how the last chapter came full circle with Louna checking on a bride before her wedding. Her and Ambrose were also really cute, I just wish they had gotten together earlier so we could have seen more of their relationship.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book! I’ve only read a few of Sarah Dessen’s other books, but I think this is one of my favorites of the ones I’ve read. I loved the wedding aspect and Louna’s journey as a character. It was just the summer read I was looking for!

Have you read Once and for All yet? What did you think?

Happy reading,

Sara

One thought on “Once and for All by Sarah Dessen: Review

  1. Another one of those books that I really, really want to read but haven’t had the money and time for. [Curse that book ban as well, by the way – not that I’m keeping that up, but hey.]
    It is awesome to see all those positive reviews on it, though! Motivated me to get it faster – if my budget allows it, haha!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

