The Goodreads Book Tag

I absolutely love Goodreads, so I thought it was finally time for me to do this tag! I wasn’t tagged by anyone but I’ve seen it on so many people’s blogs recently (such as lifeofaliterarynerd and yadaily) so definitely go check out their posts as well. You can find me on Goodreads here & please feel free to add me! I love seeing everyone’s reading updates!


What was the last book you marked as read?

28962906

Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerry Maniscalco was my most recent read! It’s been a while since I’ve read a mystery novel and this one was everything I wanted it to be and more. I was hesitant to pick it up because of James Patterson’s name on the cover (I’m not a huge fan of his) but thankfully I listened to everyone raving about it and I gave it a shot. I really loved this one!


What are you currently reading?

33784373

I was so lucky to snag an ARC of Hunting Prince Dracula at BookCon, and I was able to pick it up immediately after finishing Stalking Jack the Ripper! So far I’m loving it as much as the first one. It has a creepy castle vibe that’s super fun and Thomas and Audrey Rose’s relationship is killing me!


What do you plan to read next?

33385229

Right now I’m completely overwhelmed by how many ARCs from BookCon and other books I have on my shelf that I need to read (which is really a good problem to have, honestly) but at the moment I’m thinking I’ll pick up Adam Silvera’s They Both Die at the End next! It’s one of my most anticipated releases of the year and I’ve heard amazing things so I have high hopes for it. This will be my first Adam Silvera book (I know, I know, I’m so late) and based on the title and what else I’ve heard, I’m also expecting it to be pretty sad so I’d better prepare myself!


Do you use the star rating system?

Yes I do! I really wish there was an option for half-star ratings though, because so many times I find myself caught between two different ratings and a half star would be perfect. I usually either round up or down in this scenario and note at the top of my review what half star rating I would give it if I could.


Are you doing a 2017 Reading Challenge?

screenshot-129.png

Yes I am! I started off the year with a goal of 50, but lowered it to 35 when I realized that 50 might not be possible at this point in my life. In 2014 and 2015, when I was still in high school, I completely knocked my goals of 45 & 60 out of the park. However, last year, when I was in college, I really struggled to meet my goal of 65 and just barely finished on New Year’s Eve. It made me feel really bad about myself for reading less, and I felt like I wasn’t reading as much as I should be (which is ridiculous because I still read more books than I did the past two years while being in college, and also there’s no amount of books anyone “should” be reading). I thought I would be able to do 50 this year, but after this past semester where I barely read anything, I know it’s just not going to be possible. I’ve also been working full time and taking classes this summer, which is when I normally do the bulk of my reading during the year. I figure if I hit my goal of 35 early enough, I can always raise it to 40 or something. Anyway, that was a super long explanation for this one but the bottom line is, I like doing Goodreads challenges, but I want to have fun reading and not feel pressured to read a certain amount per year that may be unattainable. I’m happy with my goal of 35 books!


Do you have a wishlist?

Yes! My top 5 are: Eliza and her Monsters by Francesca Zappia, The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzie Lee, We Are Okay by Nina LaCour, How to Break a Boy by Laurie Devore, and Caraval by Stephanie Garber.


What book are you planning on buying next?

Ideally, the next books I buy will be The Language of Thorns by Leigh Bardugo and There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins when they’re released on September 26th. But if we’re being real, I have absolutely no willpower and will probably pick up one of the books mentioned above before then…


Do you have any favorite quotes?

Yes! I love saving quotes on Goodreads, so I have quite a few. My favorites are:

  • “If there was one good thing that came out of all this, it was that I got to meet you. I would go through it all again – I would, as long as it meant I’d met you.” – Alexandra Bracken, The Darkest Minds
  • “Maybe there were people who lived those lives. Maybe this girl was one of them. But what about the rest of us? What about the nobodies and the nothings, the invisible girls? We learn to hold our heads as if we wear crowns. We learn to wring magic from the ordinary. That was how you survived when you weren’t chosen, when there was no royal blood in your veins. When the world owed you nothing, you demanded something of it anyway.” – Leigh Bardugo, Crooked Kingdom
  • “I would have come for you. And if I couldn’t walk, I’d crawl to you, and no matter how broken we were, we’d fight our way out together-knives drawn, pistols blazing. Because that’s what we do. We never stop fighting.” – Leigh Bardugo, Crooked Kingdom (I cry every time)

Who are you favorite authors?

Leigh Bardugo, Morgan Matson, Marie Lu, Alexandra Bracken, Victoria Schwab, and Richelle Mead are the ones listed on my profile. They aren’t my only favorites (or even my top favorites in some cases) so I should update that!


Have you joined any groups?

Technically yes, I’m part of the Grishaverse group and the ATB Book Club but I don’t really participate in either of them.


Well that was fun! I’m not going to tag anyone this time, but feel free to do this tag if you’d like. And link your answers down in the comments, I’d love to see them! Remember to add me on Goodreads here so I can see what y’all are reading!

Happy Reading,

Sara

5 thoughts on “The Goodreads Book Tag

  1. “But if we’re being real, I have absolutely no willpower and will probably pick up one of the books mentioned above before then…” If this ain’t me haha but you’ll meet your reading challenge goal I have faith in you!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fuckkkkkkk I have the same wishlist!!!! Not even kidding haha! So cool! Except Caraval because I read it two weeks back and You Neeeeeed to read it asappp! You’ll love it!!
    I’m thinking to give this tag a try 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

